Chair of Surgery

Ohio, United States
Competitive Salary
Feb 11, 2021
Employment Level
Non-Tenured Track
Employment Type
Full Time

Chair of Surgery
Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine
Dayton, Ohio 

Wright State University seeks the next Elizabeth Berry Gray Chair and Professor of Surgery for the Boonshoft School of Medicine (BSoM). Reporting to the Dean of the School of Medicine, the Chair, Department of Surgery is responsible for building and leading an outstanding department, encompassing all departmental missions including a robust clinical practice, high quality graduate and undergraduate medical education programs, excellence in research and scholarship, and service. The successful candidate will be expected to provide the vision and leadership necessary for the Department of Surgery to delivery exemplary care, to educate and train medical students and residents, to build strong strategic engagements with community partners, interact and partner effectively with other medical/surgical specialists, and to develop new research and practice initiatives. 

This leader is expected to divide his or her time between administrative leadership and active practice. The Department of Surgery works collaboratively with other departments in the School of Medicine and affiliated hospitals to promote excellence in surgical care across the region. The Department of Surgery is comprised of46full time and 226 volunteer faculty, and oversees clinical activities across five partner systems, including Premier Health System, Kettering Health System, Dayton Children’s Hospital, the Dayton Veterans Affairs Hospital, and the Wright-Patterson Air Force Base Medical Center. The department oversees a large residency program with forty categorical residents and a long tradition of excellence. Active divisions include general and minimally invasive surgery, acute care surgery, and pediatric surgery. 

The BSoM is a known leader in innovative learning and community-based medical education with an enrollment of 471 medical students including M.D./M.P.H., M.D./Ph.D., and M.D./M.B.A. dual degree programs. The BSoM sponsors 12 additional residency programs and 10 fellowships, all of which are fully accredited, with a total of nearly four hundred trainees. 


•MD or DO degree from an accredited medical school
• Five years in a clinical practice of surgery
• Board certification in surgery
• DEA Registration
• Eligible for Ohio Medical License
• Five years in a significant leadership role in department of surgery
• Commitment to inclusive excellence
• Must be eligible for medical liability coverage through Wright State Physicians
• Excellent interpersonal, strategic financial, community and government relations skills, and fundraising abilities are essential

Associate Professor level candidates must fulfill all the requirements above, along with at least 5 years’ experience as an Assistant Professor with an exemplary scholarly portfolio and supervisory experience.
Full Professor candidates must fulfill all the requirements of Associate Professor along with at least 5 years’ experience at the Associate Professor level with an exemplary scholarly portfolio and leadership experience.

Applications must be submitted at by March 10, 2021 for first consideration and should include a letter of application and curriculum vitae. For questions or to submit nominations please contact Glen Solomon, M.D., Chair of the Search Committee at

For additional information about the Boonshoft School of Medicine, please visit For additional information about the Department of Surgery, please visit For information about the Dayton, OH area, please visit                                                                                   

Wright State University: AA/EOE/M/F/Vet/Disability